Councillors, Wards and Parishes


There are 45 members of the District Council, representing 106 parishes and settlements. On our Councillors page you can view a list of the Councillors, detailing their names, photos and parishes.

The Chairman of the Council is Councillor Douglas de Lacey and Councillor Bridget Smith is the Leader of the Council.

The current composition of the council is:

30 Liberal Democrat; 11 Conservative; 2 Independent and 2 Labour

(Liberal Democrat Control)

26 Males
19 Females

Seats on most of the Council's committees are allocated to the political groups (Liberal Democrat, Conservative, Labour and Independent) on a politically proportionate basis.

Members' Allowance Scheme (including allowances paid by year)

Council Parishes & Wards

The 106 parishes and settlements in South Cambridgeshire are combined to make 90 parish councils, 10 parish meetings and 1 community council, as well as 26 district electoral wards.

Electoral Wards

Balsham (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Balsham, Carlton, Horseheath, West Wickham, West Wratting and Western Colville.

Bar Hill (1 Councillors)

Comprising the parish of Bar Hill only.

Barrington (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Barrington, Eversdens, Orwell and Wimpole.

Bassingbourn (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Bassingbourn-cum-Kneesworth and Litlington.

Caldecote (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Bourn, Caldecote, Childerley, Kingston, Little Gransden & Longstowe.

Cambourne (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parish of Cambourne only,

Caxton & Papworth (2 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Boxworth, Caxton, Conington, Croxton, Elsworth, Eltisley, Graveley, Knapwell, Papworth Everard and Papworth St Agnes

Cottenham (2 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Cottenham and Rampton.

Duxford (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Babraham, Duxford, Hinxton, Ickleton and Pampisford.

Fen Ditton & Fulbourn (3 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Fen Ditton, Fulbourn, Great Wilbraham, Horningsea, Little Wilbraham, Stow-cum-Quy and Teversham

Foxton (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Fowlmere, Foxton, Heydon, Great and Little Chishill.

Gamlingay (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parish of Gamlingay.

Girton (2 Councillors)

Comprising of the parishes of Dry Drayton, Girton and Madingley.

Hardwick (1 Councillor)

Comprising of the parishes of Hardwick and Toft.

Harston & Comberton (3 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Barton, Comberton, Coton, Grantchester, Harlton, Harston, Haslingfield, Hauxton and South Trumpington.

Histon & Impington (3 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Histon, Impington and Orchard Park

Linton (2 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Bartlow, Castle Camps, Great Abington, Hildersham, Linton, Little Abington and Shudy Camps.

Longstanton (2 Councillors)

Comprising of the parishes of Longstanton and Oakington & Westwick.

Melbourn (2 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Melbourn, Meldreth, Shepreth and Whaddon.

Milton & Waterbeach (3 Councillors)

Comprising of the Parishes of Landbeach, Milton and Waterbeach.

Over & Willingham(2 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Over and Willingham.

Sawston (2 Councillors)

Comprising the parish of Sawston only.

Shelford (2 Councillors)

Comprising the parishes of Great Shelford, Little Shelford and Stapleford.

Swavesey (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Fen Drayton, Lolworth and Swavesey.

The Mordens (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of  Abington Pigotts, Arrington, Croydon, Guilden Morden, Hatley, Shingay-cum-Wendy, Steeple Morden and Tadlow.

Whittlesford (1 Councillor)

Comprising the parishes of Newton, Thriplow (including Heathfield) and Whittlesford.

If you wish to contact a particular Councillor, please go to our 'Your Councillors' page where you can click on their photo and find their contact information.

Was this web page helpful?

Feedback Form To Send

Do you require feedback?