News release from 28/02/2020

Whittlesford by-election result

Richard Williams has been elected as the new Councillor for the Whittlesford ward on South Cambridgeshire District Council.

The election yesterday (Thursday 27 February) took place after Peter Topping resigned from his role.

Results of the election

James William Douglas Hobro (Liberal Democrat) – 427 votes
Richard Lynn Williams (The Conservative Party Candidate) – 526 votes

The Whittlesford ward covers the villages of Thriplow (Heathfield and Village), Whittlesford and Newton.

County Council Duxford division

A by-election for the Cambridgeshire County Council’s Duxford division was also held on the same day. Peter McDonald (Liberal Democrat) was elected.

The Duxford division covers the villages of Duxford, Fowlmere, Foxton, Great and Little Chishill, Heydon, Hinxton, Ickleton, Pampisford, Shepreth, Thriplow (Heathfield and Village) and Whittlesford.

More information about elections can be found in the elections area of our website.