Joint planning arrangements

An Introduction to Joint Planning Arrangements

In late 2007 the three local authorities responsible for planning major growth around Cambridge decided to work more formally in partnership by creating two Joint Development Control Committees to determine the planning applications for the major growth sites.

These Joint Committees, detailed below, were set up under the provisions of Section 101(5) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Cambridge Fringes Joint Development Control Committee

The Committee comprises six Members each from Cambridge City Council and South Cambridgeshire District Council and four Members from Cambridgeshire County Council.

The Chair of the Committee for 2016/17 is SCDC Councillor David Bard.

The Committee is responsible for determining major planning applications in the Southern Fringe, North West Cambridge, North East Cambridge and East Cambridge.

A voting protocol has been agreed between the three authorities whereby Council Members of South Cambridgeshire District Council do not vote on applications on the Clay Farm and Bell School sites in the Southern Fringe, as they fall wholly within Cambridge City Council's boundary.

The Cambridge Fringes Joint Development Control Committee is administered by Cambridge City Council.

Was this web page helpful?

Feedback Form To Send

Do you require feedback?