News release from 26/03/2021

Easter bin collection dates

Easter bin collection dates

Residents of Cambridge City and South Cambridgeshire are being reminded that bin collections will be later than usual over the Easter period and after the Early May Bank Holiday.

Another reminder to residents is to keep up good recycling habits, especially when it comes to the packaging that comes with Easter eggs - the aluminium foil, plastic containers and cardboard can all be recycled in their blue bin. Making sure to scrunch up the foil and flatten the cardboard makes sorting at the recycling plant easier and more effective.

All collections scheduled from Good Friday 2 April to Friday 16 April and from Monday 3 May to Friday 7 May will take place on a later date than usual. As always, residents can check their collection days online.

Easter bank holiday changes

Scroll for more
Usual collection day Revised collection day
Good Friday 02 April Tuesday 06 April
Easter Monday 05 April Wednesday 07 April
Tuesday 06 April Thursday 08 April
Wednesday 07 April Friday 09 April
Thursday 08 April Saturday 10 April
Friday 09 April Monday 12 April
Monday 12 April Tuesday 13 April
Tuesday 13 April Wednesday 14 April
Wednesday 14 April Thursday 15 April
Thursday 15 April Friday 16 April
Friday 16 April Saturday 17 April

Monday 19 April to Friday 30 April

Collections as normal. 

Early May bank holiday changes

Scroll for more
Usual collection day Revised collection day
Monday 03 May Tuesday 04 May
Tuesday 04 May Wednesday 05 May
Wednesday 05 May Thursday 06 May
Thursday 06 May Friday 07 May
Friday 07 May Saturday 08 May

Cllr Brian Milnes, South Cambridgeshire District Council's Lead Cabinet Member for Environmental Services and Licensing, said: “Thank you to all our residents for continuing to recycle right throughout the pandemic, and to our bin collection staff for maintaining the collection service. If you are spending time outside over the Easter weekend, make sure to use the litter bins provided to help keep the streets clean. I also urge residents to check their bin collection dates over the next few weeks as a result of the upcoming bank holidays.”

Cllr Rosy Moore, Cambridge City Council's Executive Councillor for Environmental Services and City Centre, added: “Easter can be a time when a lot of excess packaging is produced, so it’s even more important to make sure it goes in the correct bin. Alternatively, consider reducing your packaging consumption this Easter by buying eggs wrapped only in foil. If you are planning on having a clear out in Spring, try to reuse or pass on as much as possible. If you can’t do this, and if your waste can’t be stored safely at home, then please use the household recycling centres at Milton or Thriplow.”

Find out more information about waste and recycling including which items can be recycled and how, and see tailored bin collection calendars.