Community Governance review for Milton Parish

We have undertaken a community governance review of the parish of Milton to consider if there should be a decrease in the number of Parish Councillors from 15 to 12, to enable meetings to be quorate with 4 councillors. The Council was approached by Milton Parish Council who has requested this review.

In line with the National Association of Local Councils (NALC), recommends a parish the size of Milton would have between 10 and 11 councillors.

At their meeting on 8 May 2018 the parish council agreed to request the reduction in the number of councillors as, despite advertising, they have found it difficult for the past few years to attract people to join the council. They currently have only 8 councillors and do not believe they can attract 7 more.

They are disappointed with the situation but can see no other option if they are to continue to be able to make decisions.

The community governance review commenced with the publication of the Terms of Reference on 5 September 2018.

Milton Community Governance Review – Terms of reference

An online consultation form was available between 5 September 2018 and 5 November 2018 on our consultation portal and provided the opportunity to agree or disagree with the proposal decreasing the number of Parish Councillors from 15 to 12.

Paper copies were made available at South Cambridgeshire District Council Offices and throughout Milton Parish Council Office, 84 Coles Road, CB24 6BW. All responses made online or paper copies were returned to our offices by midnight 5 November 2018.

On the 4 December the Civic Affairs Committee considered the responses and agreed to the request to decrease the number of parish councillors from 15 to 12 and to implement the change from the next scheduled election in May 2022, or on the 1st Thursday in May in any year earlier (to be funded by the parish council) should the Parish Council nominate to do so.

The Parish Council have nominated that the reduction should take effect from an election to be held on the 1st Thursday in May 2019.

 

The review will follow the timetable outlined below and the process will be concluded by 28 Feb 2019.

Full Timeline for Community Governance Review

Scroll for more

Timetable for Community Governance Review

Terms of Reference are published

5 September 2018

Submissions invited

5 September 2018

Consultation closes

Midnight on 5 November 2018

Consideration of submissions received and recommendation prepared

From 06 November to 20 November 2018

 

Recommendations are published, concluding the review

 (Civic Affairs Committee, 4 December)

 

December  2018

Council can make a Reorganisation of Community Governance Order

February  2019

South Cambridgeshire District Council is the Data Controller and registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office.

We need your personal data to ensure the consultation responses are unique to you.  Your personal data will be anonymised should your response be published; in some cases responses maybe listed by postcode and parish.  

Scroll for more
Scroll for more

You have rights over the information that you provide us, such as access and correction. For full details of these rights, please refer to https://www.scambs.gov.uk/privacynotice.

 

We share information within the Council to ensure services are provided appropriately.  We may share your personal data with other agencies if the law tells us we have to.

We may process the information you provide to prevent and detect fraud in any of our systems and may supply information to e.g., government agencies or credit reference agencies to do this. We participate in the Government’s National Fraud Initiative.

We only keep your information as long as necessary, or in line with the law. You can find out more by looking at the Council’s Retention Policy on the web site.

Was this web page helpful?

Feedback Form To Send

Do you require feedback?