News release from 23/01/2020

Could you be the next Councillor for Whittlesford ward or Duxford Division?

Could you be the next Councillor for Whittlesford ward or Duxford Division?

Candidates are being asked to step forward now to become the new district councillor for Whittlesford ward and county councillor for Duxford division.

Nominations for the two seats open today (Thursday 23 January) ahead of the by-election being held on Thursday 27 February.

The elections are being held after Peter Topping resigned from his role as councillor for South Cambridgeshire District Council’s Whittlesford ward and Cambridgeshire County Council’s Duxford division.

The Whittlesford ward covers the villages of Thriplow (Heathfield and Village), Whittlesford and Newton.

The Duxford division covers the villages of Duxford, Fowlmere, Foxton, Great and Little Chishill, Heydon, Hinxton, Ickleton, Pampisford, Shepreth, Thriplow (Heathfield and Village) and Whittlesford.

Anyone interested in standing for election is urged to visit the Electoral Commission website to find out more information and download a nomination form. Potential candidates need to talk to the local party office first if they want to stand for a political party.

Nomination forms for both elections must be handed in to South Cambridgeshire District Council’s Cambourne offices between Thursday 23 January and Friday 31 January at 4pm.

Candidates must be aged 18 or over and be British or a citizen of a member country of the European Union or Commonwealth. Further information is also available on the Electoral Commission website.

Anyone not registered to vote must do so by Tuesday 11 February so they can vote in the two by-elections.

Postal votes can be applied for until 5pm on Wednesday 12 February and proxy votes by 5pm on Wednesday 19 February.

For more information about registering to vote, postal and proxy votes, visit our elections pages.