You can’t miss it – campaign launches ahead of EU referendum

16 May 2016

With the EU referendum fast approaching, South Cambridgeshire residents are being urged to look out for the Electoral Commission’s information booklet being delivered in the coming weeks.

The referendum on the UK’s membership of the European Union will take place on Thursday 23 June. The booklet, which will be delivered to every household across the UK over the next week, contains important information for voters on the referendum, how to register to vote and how to cast your vote.

Alongside delivery of the information guide, the Electoral Commission has launched its national voter registration campaign to remind people to register by the Tuesday 7 June deadline.  Advertising will appear across TV, radio and online on demand video services encouraging viewers to make sure they don’t miss the booklet.

Jean Hunter, electoral registration officer and chief executive of South Cambridgeshire District Council, said:“There is still time to make sure you can take part in the EU referendum. We’re receiving over 50 duplicate registrations a day though, so want to repeat that if you are already registered to vote, you don’t need to register again.

“However  if you’re not already registered, have moved house since mid-April or turn 18 between 6 May and 23 June, it only takes a few minutes to register online at or by calling us on 03450 455 214.”

Ben Brook, head of performance and English regional teams at the Electoral Commission, said: “Keep an eye out for our booklet which is being delivered to homes across the UK. It contains really important information on how to take part in this historic event.

“We want to make sure that everyone who is eligible to take part, is able to. Our advice is to plan in advance where you will be on polling day. If you’re likely to be away on the day and will be unable to get to the polling station then you can look at options for postal or proxy votes.”

More information for voters is available at

To register to vote head to