South Cambridgeshire District Council

Warning message

The Planning Portal will be unavailable between 20:00 - 23:00 on Saturday 28th March 2015 for essential maintenance. Apologies for any inconvenience.

You are here

South Cambridgeshire District Council by-election results

Kevin Cuffley has been named as the new district councillor for Sawston after a by-election in the village yesterday (Thursday 18 July).


The by-election was triggered in June after former independent district councillor, Sally Hatton, resigned.


The new Conservative councillor joins Cllrs David Bard and Raymond Matthews – also both Conservative Party – in representing the ward.


The results of the election were:

Kevin Cuffley – Conservative Party – 477 votes

Michael Kilpatrick – Liberal Democrat Party – 110 votes

Mike Nettleton – Labour Party – 199 votes

Elizabeth Smith – UKIP – 233 votes


The turnout was 18.83%.


Seats now held on the Council are as follows:

Conservative Party – 34

Liberal Democrat Party – 14

Labour Party – 1

Independent – 8


Details of all district councillors can be found by visiting

Contact the Council

Contact us | Our external services | Emergency out of hours numbers

© 2015 South Cambridgeshire District Council. All rights reserved.