Bourn by-election candidates announced

7 April 2017

The three candidates standing for the Bourn seat on South Cambridgeshire District Council have been announced.

The by-election will take place on Thursday 4 May 2017 for the seat formerly held by Mervyn Loynes who stood down in March.

The three candidates are:
Ruth Ellen Betson – The Conservative Party Candidate
Mark Hurn – The Labour Party Candidate
Jeni Sawford – Liberal Democrat

On Thursday 4 May polling stations in Bourn, Cambourne, Caxton, Croxton and Eltisley will open at 7am and close at 10pm.

The election is being held on the same day as Cambridgeshire County Council elections and the first Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Mayoral election.

If you are not registered to vote and want to vote in these election, you must register by Thursday 13 April. Postal vote applications must be received by 5pm on Tuesday 18 April. Proxy vote applications can be applied for until Tuesday 25 April.

For more information about how to register to vote, or apply for a postal vote, visit You can also contact the South Cambridgeshire District Council elections team on or 03450 455 214.